Kwolz's Adventures in Saving the World

"Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better." -Albert Einstein

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Costa Rica Update #4: Paraíso Pacífico

Posted by kevinwolz on June 12, 2011

Manuel Antonio is a relatively small, but touristy, town on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica. It is said to have the both the nicest National Park and the best beach in the country. While I have not personally not seen enough of Costa Rica to confirm this, my five days there were amazing. The odd situation of the past week warranted a slightly extended trip than has been typical. I spent half of my five days with students from the institute and the other half with some other friends that happened to be staying in the same town.

Over my several days, I spent a good eight hours hiking in the park and saw an abundance of wildlife, including sloths, snakes, monkeys, birds, butterflies, insects, crabs, lizards, frogs, etc. Unfortunately, I have still failed to see any of the many magnificent ground mammals that call Costa Rica home…possibly because many of them are nocturnal.

The beaches were amazing as well, with soft sand and monkeys playing in the background (although the latter gets a bit old once the monkeys start stealing your things). While I’ve gone diving and snorkeling many times in the past, I haven’t done much actual swimming in the ocean, especially with waves as large as I experienced this past weekend. While body surfing the 10+ foot waves, we would easily get carried (tumbled) 30 meters (100 ft) towards the beach.

Top all that off with two ten-hour nights of air-conditioned sleep and some great friends, and I’d call that a great trip. While the last five days have been a great taste of paradise, I am now returning to a homework- and project-filled week of school. I’m going to save some energy from typing here and put it towards the several papers I need to write. That said, I’m just about half-way through phase one of my summer. Before I know it, I’ll be in Panama…everything’s moving so fast!

Pictures

Manuel Antonio

2 Responses to “Costa Rica Update #4: Paraíso Pacífico”

  1. Karen Wolz said

    Great pictures!

  2. Joan said

    Kevin,
    Enjoyed the pictures of the monkeys AND the beautiful beaches etc. Sounds like you’re having a great time.
    Fun to see the eight of you and all from Illinois. Look forward to more pictures.

    GB

Leave a Reply

 
