Kwolz's Adventures in Saving the World

"Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better." -Albert Einstein

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

I Love Einstein

Posted by kevinwolz on June 19, 2010

Here’s a list of my favorite Einstein quotes (with limited commentary). This post is a bit random, but I just love the way he thinks! Let me know your thoughts.

“Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.” – Clearly my favorite. I’d like to emphasize the “everything” part.

“Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them.” – So encompassing…from running to thinking.

“Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I’m not sure about the former.” – Our hubris will be the death of us.

“Few people are capable of expressing with equanimity opinions which differ from the prejudices of their social environment. Most people are even incapable of forming such opinions.” – Screw conformity!

“Too many of us look upon Americans as dollar chasers. This is a cruel libel, even if it is reiterated thoughtlessly by the Americans themselves.” Over the years, I’ve become less and less materialistic. I hate buying things, and money means little to me. The American Dream has confused and isolated us.

“If the bee disappears from the surface of the earth, man would have no more than four years to live.” – Scary thought? Well it’s already happening: bees aren’t doing so hot right now. Don’t think we can engineer our way out of this one. Humans are constantly dependent on nature.

On Education:

“The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education.” – Hence why I’m abandoning my traditional education for the summer and then making up my own path when I get back.

“Not everything that counts can be counted, and not everything that can be counted counts.” – As much as I love graphs, I think we stress empirical data too much. We need to observe and widen our vision.

“Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.”

“If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.” – Tutoring made this a reality for me.

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.” – Imagination won’t come without inspiration. You won’t find inspiration inside a classroom.

“Education is what remains after one has forgotten everything he learned in school.” – This is the kind of education I’m getting this summer.

“We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.” – And yet out educational system hasn’t changed in decades…

“Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius — and a lot of courage — to move in the opposite direction.”

On Religion:

*Disclaimer* I’ve told myself that I won’t talk about religion on my blog, but what the hell. For now, I’ll let Einstein do most of the talking, as his ideas seem to jive pretty well with mine.

“Science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind.” – No matter where my explorations in these topics take me, this will be a central mantra.

“God does not care about our mathematical difficulties. He integrates empirically.” – If God can do it, so can you. Don’t complain about integrals…no one’s listening.

“All religions, arts and sciences are branches of the same tree.” – Yes! One does not negate the other. You are not a “religious” person or a “scientific” person. It’s all part of the same consciousness and understanding.

“I am a deeply religious nonbeliever – this is a somewhat new kind of religion.” – This one confuses me a bit. However, I admire the non-conformist approach.

“The further the spiritual evolution of mankind advances, the more certain it seems to me that the path to genuine religiosity does not lie through the fear of life, and the fear of death, and blind faith, but through striving after rational knowledge.” – I won’t argue with what you believe in…as long as you have actually thought about it yourself and haven’t made blind, uninformed, and conformist decisions.

“True religion is real living; living with all one’s soul, with all one’s goodness and righteousness.” – Who can argue with that?

“My religion consists of a humble admiration of the illimitable superior spirit who reveals himself in the slight details we are able to perceive with our frail and feeble mind.” – Hmm, this one will take more time to think about.

“A human being is a part of a whole, called by us “universe,” a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings as something separated from the rest… a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty.”


One Response to “I Love Einstein”

  1. Sheril said

    “Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius — and a lot of courage — to move in the opposite direction.”
    I was reading your favorite quotes; this one struck me because when I sum up all the conversations with Caroline in Afghanistan….this reminds me of her…on the genius end!! I am looking for her to write a book after her tour.

    “The further the spiritual evolution of mankind advances, the more certain it seems to me that the path to genuine religiosity does not lie through the fear of life, and the fear of death, and blind faith, but through striving after rational knowledge.”
    He nails it here! I have to make some comments on portions of this. fear of life. People who let fear run their lives are afraid to live and experience the beauty! fear of death….to me it is the same as fear of life. Blind faith…in my observations I find that when people have blind faith, they lack an understanding. I find that if you learn, gain knowledge, experience, etc. then you are no longer blind, but have a foundation for your faith.

    “True religion is real living; living with all one’s soul, with all one’s goodness and righteousness.”
    Gosh, absolutely!!! I read a graduation card that said something like to the effect that you should do what you love in life because that is what you were intended to do and will benefit many. Think about the energy of people that really love what they do! They love life, continue to seek, continue to share, and spread happiness to those they come in contact with! Inspiration!

    “My religion consists of a humble admiration of the illimitable superior spirit who reveals himself in the slight details we are able to perceive with our frail and feeble mind.”
    I think I get this! I can take on a few different modes of thinking here. One is the beauty in the details in nature and the extreme diversity not to mention the sybiosis of it all. The other more from my cellular physiology background in dealing with the very complex functions of cells, that which is the basis of life. It would take too long to explain this, but basically that our cells function like a well oiled machine and when something goes wrong in theory would cause a cascade of bad effects, but then there is that desire for homeostasis. Where the mystery comes in!

    Thanks for putting these quotes up! And I like to talk about religion. It would be fun to have a conversation sometime on this subject. I think that we may have similar views. Just a hunch!

Leave a Reply

 
