Kwolz's Adventures in Saving the World

"Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better." -Albert Einstein

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Garden Update #1

Posted by kevinwolz on May 10, 2010

First of all, I need to make something clear: The primary goal of my garden this summer is not maximum yield; it is to learn and teach how to grow food. I will get to make my own decisions, try out my own ideas, and teach my friends and family with a convenient hands-on tool. That said, good yields would sure be a nice bonus! Since this garden will be a significant component of my summer, I have decided that the best way to update everyone on its progress is through a “Garden Update” series of posts throughout the summer, of which this post is the first.

My post yesterday describes the latest happenings regarding the garden, so now I just want to provide these photos that should give a better idea of what’s happened. Make sure to read the captions for explanation. The meat of this post is in the pictures.

On a side note, today I tried those morels I bought at the FM (farmers market). Morels are the “king” of edible mushrooms, and I have been wanting to try them for quite a while. Unfortunately, I’m in school during the “hunting” season, and I probably wouldn’t have enough time to go searching anyway. Finally, I had a solid pound of morels in my hand, so I sautéed them in olive oil and ate them with the asparagus and dill bread I had from the FM as well. Despite my initial skepticism, they were great! Pretty neat looking too, huh?

5 Responses to “Garden Update #1”

  1. Joan said

    You’ve got guts Kevin. I think I’ll pass on the morels.

  2. Joan said

    Kevin,
    Loved the garden pictures. You, along with your parents, have down a great job of preparing the garden plot. Looking forward to your next set of pictures!

  3. sheril said

    We use to hut morels with our friends in New Glarus. They are very awesome and sell for a hefty price!! They match well with asparagus. Try an asparagus morel omelette. Unfortunately, I have develeoped a severe reaction to them after eating pounds of them. I am so sad because they are my favorite mushroom!!!

  4. sheril said

    I hope you were instructed to soak them in salt water first to get the critters out of them. And we always preferred the grays to the yellows.

Leave a Reply

 
