Kwolz's Adventures in Saving the World

"Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better." -Albert Einstein

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Saving The World

Posted by kevinwolz on May 4, 2010

As I mentioned in my “Passionate Pursuits” post last week (read this for background info if you haven’t already), I finally gave my Passionate Pursuits Lecture: “Saving the World: My Philosophy, My Story, and My Summer.” I view this presentation as the culmination of my last two years of intellectual, emotional, and philosophical development. My goal was to share my latest insights with as many friends and colleagues as possible. Thirty three people attended (a Passionate Pursuits record), including my classmates, teammates, professors, advisors, and mentors. It was really a great experience. Now, thanks to my awesome friend Matt’s generous help, the video recording of the lecture is online for all to see! The lecture is about 45 minutes long, and I talk fast, so grab a snack, sit back, and hang on.

I build my philosophy from the ground up, going through the major events that have influenced me over the last several years. I then explain where this philosophy has taken me so far, how it relates to my current academic plans, and finally, where it’s taking me over the summer. I will refrain from any further summary because I can express myself much better through speech; your time would be much better spent listening rather than reading. There was some great conversation following the live lecture as well, so please don’t hesitate to continue that in the comment section below. Enjoy!

My Passionate Pursuits Lecture: Saving the World: My Philosophy, My Story, and My Summer

One Response to “Saving The World”

  1. Godsil said

    I have to go to Sweet Water to welcome 15,000 new yellow perch but want to let go on record as saying that “Saving the World” is as inspiring a presentation as I could hope for in this mortal realm. In the way that I pray, I pray that Kevin Wolz and his inspired engineering friends make it someday, perhaps this Sunday at 2 p.m., to Sweet Water and consider 35 years, until my 100th birthday, of “mighty collaborations!” Biomimicry is a verb!

Leave a Reply

 
