Kwolz's Adventures in Saving the World

"Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better." -Albert Einstein

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

New Pages!

Posted by kevinwolz on April 25, 2010

Well my posting rate has certainly fallen off a bit lately with the last few weeks of school taking their toll. Only a week and a half of classes left! This last weekend brought the last track meet of the season, and now I have a week to shift gears for the Illinois Half Marathon that I will be running with my mom and some friends this Saturday (training for a 3 k race is a lot different from training for 13 miles–about 21 k). Driving back from Dubuque last night was probably my worst driving experience ever. The rain and wind were simply incomprehensible at some points, making visibility close to nil…driving 30 mph from reflector to reflector on an interstate is not something I would recommend. It wasn’t too bad when reflectors were actually every few meters on the stripes in between the lanes, but unfortunately IDOT seems to think that replacing reflectors and painting lane lines more than once a century is overrated…

Anyway, I’ve added two new pages up top and also added some content to the others:

  • Podcasts: Something everyone should listen to. Start downloading today.
  • Links: A pretty random compilation of my favorite and most-visited websites that I hope everyone has the time to check out at some point. I have learned so much over the last few years just browsing the vast universe we call the internet. You should do the same.
  • I’ve added a few news books to my To Read list, as well as added a few books that I recently remembered I have read in the past (this will probably be an ongoing game of memory recall). After talking with one of my track teammates this weekend, these two books by Jared Diamond have jumped to the top of my list: Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail of Succeed and Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies. Gotta learn how previous societies failed so we don’t make the same mistakes!
  • I’ve also added some random things to my To Do List, most important of which is to “hold a massive fresh/local vs. processed taste test”. I got the idea after watching the final episodes of Jaime Oliver’s Food Revolution this weekend (have YOU watched this show yet!?) and talking to my teammates about my garden plans for the summer. I realized that I can verbally explain why eating fresh and locally is essential to saving the world until I pass out from exhaustion and still not get my point across; I need to steal a trick from Jaime and just show these guys what I’m talking about! So at least once this summer I will spend a day cooking and comparing fresh/local foods and processed foods for my friends so they can experience it in person.

Check it all out and let me know what you think! As always, please share your thoughts and opinions via the comment boxes at the bottom of each page. These pages will be evolving constantly, so be sure to check back every once in a while as well.

Oh, and the biggest news of the morning: I HAVE PUMPKIN SEEDLINGS! I planted about ten pumpkin seeds on Thursday (Earth Day!) and didn’t really expect them to germinate for at least 7-14 days like the packets said, but I guess three days was enough for some! The key had to be keeping the containers heated to about 80 degrees F with the heat pad. I will planting a lot more pumpkins than this over the summer, but I really wanted to at least start a couple to cover my bases and learn as much as I could about them in this controlled environment first.  Pumpkin Pie Paradise, here I come!

MUCH bigger than the brassicas were...

4 Responses to “New Pages!”

  1. Pae said

    How do you control the light and humidity?

    • kwolz said

      Well, I don’t really. The shelf is in front of a south-facing window which does pretty well. Unfortunately, we haven’t had a lot of sun in quite a few days which isn’t helping. I open the blinds in the morning and close them at night…they get what Mother Nature gives. I have even less control over the humidity, but it seems pretty average in our dorm room, so I’m not too worried about that.

  2. onestraw said

    I would add Tim Flannery’s *The Eternal Frontier* and James Martin’s *The Meaning of the 21st Century* to the list. The former is a very poignant book from an outsiders perspective on why American’s act as we do (because there has ALWAYS been another fronteir for us -not good taken in conjunction with Diamonds books) and the latter is a very insightful book from a freaky smart (predicted our portable electronic culture back in the early 70’s) and connected (lunches with Thatcher and Clinton) Brit. His conclusions are sobering. Then wrap it up with John Michael Greer’s *Long Descent*. You will need some cheering up after the final one, but Greer’s predictions ring closer to the truth to me concerning our Energy Future. Plus he’s the Arch Druid of North America and that’s just cool. You can borrow any of these and any of several dozen more this summer.

    • kwolz said

      I like the sound of the first two, and I vaguely recall hearing about the last one somewhere (probably your blog). Seeing as I am leaving my university library resources in less than two weeks, I will definitely take you up on the offer! In fact, I just decided that the addition of these three books has created a critical mass for the formation of another category on the list for “Philosophy & Psychology”. Nice.

Leave a Reply

 
