Kwolz's Adventures in Saving the World

"Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better." -Albert Einstein

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution

Posted by kevinwolz on April 10, 2010

I’ve found another new hero. Before spring break, I had never heard of Jamie Oliver. I first saw him while boiling down my maple syrup and (gasp!) watching TV. It was the season premier of his new show “Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution.” Now this was no Food Channel special. This was Friday night prime time on ABC!

Jaime Oliver is a famous British chef. He has several TV shows, books, and even a magazine. His website has more information on all that, but more importantly, Jamie believes in fresh, healthy, natural food. He believes our food system is “rubbish,” and his goal is to educate everyone about how to stop killing ourselves. He single-handedly revolutionized the British school food system, and now, he is trying to do the same in the U.S. His show documents the start of this revolution in Huntington, West Virginia: the unhealthiest and deadliest city in the country, as declared by the CDC. If you have not been watching, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND AND ENCOURAGE AND HOPE AND WANT AND TRUST you will check out the first four episodes at hulu.com. You will be disgusted, shocked, and inspired all at once. Then, watch the final two episodes with me the next two Fridays at 9pm/8c. I would like to discuss this with all of you in the future.

For something extra, of if you really really don’t have the time to watch the previous episodes, check out Jamie’s TEDPrize speech. If you don’t know much about TED in general, surf the site a bit as well. In particular, check out the previous TEDPrize winners by clicking the years on the right side. Impressive! There will be more to come later on how obsessed I am with the TED concept.

My adrenaline is pumping. A critical mass is on the horizon. We can do this.

I wish I could start just as Jamie is: in the primary schools. I know they eat crap at our local schools. I remember eating that crap. Unfortunately, I’m not home during the school year. SO, I’m going to have to start where I am: the University of Illinois. My freshman year has provided me with an amazing foothold on this campus. I’ve learned the ins and outs of college  life, student groups, and campus activities. Next year, I act. I have joined the environmental group on campus: Students for Environmental ConcernS (SECS), and have been elected the Composting Chair/Student Farm Volunteer Coordinator. This will be a great springboard from which to begin this work.

My TEDwish? I wish the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign could provide its students with fresh, organic food that is sustainably produced on campus, while educating its students about healthy, sustainable food systems.

Leave a Reply

 
